Uncle Buddy’s Piccata

August 25, 2013 at 7:37 pm Leave a comment

My Uncle Buddy (Wayne) makes the absolute best Chicken Piccata. It truly is restaurant quality. My favorite Piccata from a restaurant is Salmon Piccata from Maggiano’s. Living in Albany, Georgia doesn’t afford me the luxury of popping over to Maggiano’s whenever I’m needing a fix. And Uncle Buddy was living in Florida and is now in Chicago, so he’s not an option either. I’ve tried several online recipes and none ever hit the mark.

So during my last trip to Cincinnati/Northern Kentucky, Mom and Uncle Buddy were over at my sister’s visiting from out of town and I asked Buddy to make Piccata so I could get a fix before I went home the next morning. He indulged me. I watched closely as he whipped through the recipe he uses from Food.com. As I watched intently I realized he did a few things the recipe didn’t call for. He poured the caper juice into the lemon juice and then he lightly diced the capers. I suspect this gives the Piccata an extra kick of flavor before you actually bite into a caper. The other important part is keeping the “yum-yum” from the chicken pan. Brooklynn and I call the browned flour crust left at the bottom of the pan when browning meat “yum-yum”.

Brooklynn and I went home after our Cincy trip and attempted Piccata the very next weekend. And what do you know, it turned out exactly like Uncle Buddy’s. I’m proud and excited to share the recipe here for my family, friends, and very few internet followers. It’s quick easy, not a ton of prep work, and absolutely delicious. We serve it over Basmati rice pilaf sauteed in butter before cooking. By the way, the ONLY white rice I cook in my house is Basmati. If you still use regular white rice you are missing out on the best tasting starch God created.

Here’s the Chicken Piccata recipe as posted on the internet: Frugal Gourmet’s Chicken Piccata

Remember to use the juice from the caper jar, lightly dice the capers, and use the “yum-yum” in the bottom of your chicken pan.

Thank you Uncle Buddy and Enjoy.

20130825-191520.jpg

Frugal Gourmet’s Chicken Piccata

Ingredients:
1 small yellow onion, chopped
2 garlic cloves, crushed
4 scallions, chopped
2 tablespoons olive oil
8 chicken breasts
1/2 cup flour
salt and pepper
2 tablespoons butter
2 tablespoons dry sherry
2 tablespoons lemon juice
1 tablespoon capers, chopped
2 tablespoons chicken stock (optional)

Directions:
Saute onions, garlic and scallions in olive oil until tender. Remove from pan and set aside.
Remove skins and bones from chicken and pound flat. Mix flour, salt and pepper and place in a flat bowl. Dip chicken pieces into flour and lightly brown them in butter, 2-3 minutes per side.
Add sauteed onions and garlic. Over high heat, add sherry, lemon juice and capers. This should thicken to make a nice gravy for the chicken. If gravy becomes too thick, add some chicken stock.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Pleasing Your Spouse Guest Blogger: Daughter Brooklynn Collier

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Natalie


I'm Natalie and so glad you stopped in.

January 29, 2008 changed my life forever. Before that day I weighed a whopping 292 lbs. Today I'm at a very slender 145 lbs. (in a size 6 jean!). The gastric bypass I received that day gave me a new lease on life. With that new lease came a commitment to a new eating lifestyle; moderation and plenty of protein. One of the neat side effects is my very low tolerance for sugar.

I've always loved food and knew I would be challenged to find satisfaction without the sugar. Over the past three years I've created some masterpieces of both savory and sugar free foods. Guests to our home are always asking for my recipes.

On this blog I plan to share many recipes I've found and in many cases modified. Some are high-jacked others are creations or family recipes. I will do my level best to give credit to the originators of any high-jacked recipes.

All recipes are sugar free. None are fat free! I have a saying, "If you can't have sugar, bring on the butter!"

I will also share awesome restaurant discoveries as I find them. Many times I attempt to recreate them at home.

So feel free to high-jack recipes from my blog. Recreate the magic in your home, and enjoy the food with family and friends. Cherish the moments with them because tomorrow is not promised.

Blessings,
Natalie

Recent Posts

Subscribe and never miss a post

Join 1,221 other followers

How much do they really love my recipes?

  • 996 vists to my blog

