Guest Blogger: Daughter Brooklynn Collier

August 25, 2013 at 8:27 pm Leave a comment

Hi, I’m Brooklynn, Sugar-Free Foodie’s daughter. I tend to be quite picky with the food and flavors I eat. So when my mom asked me to try her Key Lime Pie, I was reluctant. Never being a fan of the tart flavor, I suspected hers would be like every other I’d tried. But, after tasting it, I was quite shocked with my appreciation for the pie. I was pleasantly pleased by tolerable tartness balanced by surprising sweetness. Hers seemed to be the only Key Lime Pie I’ve tried that was more sweet than tart.

A few weeks later I was craving to have the taste in my mouth again. I asked my mom if she could make me one and she told me she wouldn’t make it, but would gladly talk me through it while I prepared the pie. I have now learned how to fully make it myself. I’ll even surprise her every once in a while and make her one out of the blue. I enjoy doing little things like making her an occasional pie. and it helps that she can only eat small portions, making it last longer for the rest of us.
20130825-200842.jpg
Here’s her recipe:

KEY LIME PIE – SUGAR FREE
Ingredients:
Pre-made Keebler deep graham cracker pie crust

Filling:
8 oz cream cheese (room temp for 2 hours)
7 TBSP Splenda
¼ tsp Stevia plus
1/8 tsp Stevia
½ Cup Key Lime juice
¼ tsp lime zest
1 packet unflavored Gelatin
1 Cup Heavy Cream

1. Heat ½ cup lime juice and lemon zest for 2 minutes in microwave
2. Wisk in packet of gelatin until fully dissolved. Set aside until no longer hot to touch (5-10 minutes)
3. Chill bowl and beaters, then beat cream, add 1/8 tsp Stevia, into stiff peaks. Put in refrigerator until called for in recipe.
4. Beat cream cheese with mixer until smooth
5. Add 7 TBSP Splenda and ¼ tsp Stevia
6. Add lime juice mixture to cheese and beat cheese mixture until smooth, and a pudding like texture. (if more thickening is needed put bowl of mixture into an ice bath)

[If you desire a less tart more sweet pie, add additional Splenda at this point]

7. Stir in Whipped Cream mixture until consistent texture.
8. Scrape filling into pie crust
9. Chill in refrigerator 3-4 Hours (Pie will keep at least 3 days in refrigerator)
10. Garnish with additional Whipped cream or lemon zest if desired.
11. Serve and Enjoy!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Uncle Buddy’s Piccata Alone; Time to Indulge Me

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Natalie


I'm Natalie and so glad you stopped in.

January 29, 2008 changed my life forever. Before that day I weighed a whopping 292 lbs. Today I'm at a very slender 145 lbs. (in a size 6 jean!). The gastric bypass I received that day gave me a new lease on life. With that new lease came a commitment to a new eating lifestyle; moderation and plenty of protein. One of the neat side effects is my very low tolerance for sugar.

I've always loved food and knew I would be challenged to find satisfaction without the sugar. Over the past three years I've created some masterpieces of both savory and sugar free foods. Guests to our home are always asking for my recipes.

On this blog I plan to share many recipes I've found and in many cases modified. Some are high-jacked others are creations or family recipes. I will do my level best to give credit to the originators of any high-jacked recipes.

All recipes are sugar free. None are fat free! I have a saying, "If you can't have sugar, bring on the butter!"

I will also share awesome restaurant discoveries as I find them. Many times I attempt to recreate them at home.

So feel free to high-jack recipes from my blog. Recreate the magic in your home, and enjoy the food with family and friends. Cherish the moments with them because tomorrow is not promised.

Blessings,
Natalie

Recent Posts

Subscribe and never miss a post

Join 1,221 other followers

How much do they really love my recipes?

  • 1,012 vists to my blog

