Sandwichlicious

October 26, 2010 at 11:11 pm Leave a comment

On Sunday we had to go by the store and pick up my Chocolate Carmel Creamer for my coffee on Monday morning. Those of you who know me, know I can’t just go into the grocery and get one thing.  Grocery shopping is like a treasure hunt for me.  I’m always on the look out for yummies.  If my husband isn’t with me to “push” me along, I’d wander for hours looking for something new or something to inspire me.  Don’t let me loose in the International Store. You might have to file a missing persons report.

Anyway, I digress.  I knew I had the Butternut Squash Soup I made the night before and was racking my brain for something I could make to accompany my delectable soup.  Well, the natural partner for soup is a sandwich.  But I didn’t want any ordinary sandwich to sit aside my yummy goodness.

I sauntered over to the cheese section to see if I could find a cheese to melt on top of a grilled turkey sandwich.  Low and behold I found a new line of Borden sliced cheeses.


There were four flavors.  Five are pictured here. They didn’t have the Sun-dried Tomato.  We bought one of each they had available.  I picked up some sliced turkey breast and freshly sliced cheese bread from the bakery and headed home.  I sauteed an onion in a little butter and olive oil.  Then sliced the turkey into bite size pieces and added the meat to the onion when it was almost done.  I cooked until the meat was nicely browned.  Meanwhile I lightly buttered the sliced cheese bread and browned it on both sides using my flat cast iron pan.   After putting the meat/onion combo on the bread, I placed a slice of the chipotle bacon cheese on top to melt.  I can’t begin to tell you what a hit these sandwiches were.  The kids raved about how good they were. So good in fact I made them again on Monday night and had one tonight after work before heading out to my Girls Inc. board meeting.

I don’t have a high tech camera so I hope you can get a good idea of how the finished product looked.

The sandwich is so simple, but so good. If you get a chance, swing by Kroger (or your local grocery if you don’t have a Kroger close by) and pick up a pack of that Chipotle Cheddar Cheese. It’s amazing and really added a nice mild zing.  I highly recommend it for your next autumn soup and sandwich night.  Let me know what you think.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

What’s for dinner? Cool Outside Warm in the Kitchen

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Natalie


I'm Natalie and so glad you stopped in.

January 29, 2008 changed my life forever. Before that day I weighed a whopping 292 lbs. Today I'm at a very slender 145 lbs. (in a size 6 jean!). The gastric bypass I received that day gave me a new lease on life. With that new lease came a commitment to a new eating lifestyle; moderation and plenty of protein. One of the neat side effects is my very low tolerance for sugar.

I've always loved food and knew I would be challenged to find satisfaction without the sugar. Over the past three years I've created some masterpieces of both savory and sugar free foods. Guests to our home are always asking for my recipes.

On this blog I plan to share many recipes I've found and in many cases modified. Some are high-jacked others are creations or family recipes. I will do my level best to give credit to the originators of any high-jacked recipes.

All recipes are sugar free. None are fat free! I have a saying, "If you can't have sugar, bring on the butter!"

I will also share awesome restaurant discoveries as I find them. Many times I attempt to recreate them at home.

So feel free to high-jack recipes from my blog. Recreate the magic in your home, and enjoy the food with family and friends. Cherish the moments with them because tomorrow is not promised.

Blessings,
Natalie

Recent Posts

Subscribe and never miss a post

Join 1,221 other followers

How much do they really love my recipes?

  • 996 vists to my blog

